Do Over.

For those of you who don’t know me – I’m 30, I own and run a restaurant/bar in the beautiful Pennsylvania Wilds, and this is my little haven for my (mostly slow) trail running exploits.

For those of you who know me…

Sorry about that little flounce. I know I kind of up and disappeared without a trace, but sometimes you just have to shut up and run.  If you really want the long story, you can send me an email or Facebook or something, but it’s really not worth the words.

Truth be told, though – I really miss “this.”  Whatever it is.  Writing race reports and seeing what you guys are up to mostly.  I think I’m a narcissist and a voyeur.  This is probably cheaper than therapy.  People might say that about running but I call BS on that because my credit card hand is strong and I like new shoes and racing too often.  Anyway, I can’t wait to catch up on your journeys.  Sincerely cannot wait.

What have I been up to the past few months?

In May I raced the Chief Wetona 1/2 Marathon in beautiful Mt. Pisgah state park.  That was a fun one (nice and cozy sized, lots of climbing) and for whatever reason I was having an excellent day.  Definitely a tough race.  Cool story, though… I unknowingly ran with Sandy from Trail Bound Mom for a minute.  She later sent me the photographic evidence.  I am the alabaster and orange mess.  I think this was mile 1ish.

Myself and Sandy at Chief Wetona.  It's a small world, even on WordPress.

Myself and Sandy at Chief Wetona. It’s a small world, even on WordPress.

Anyway, hi Sandy!  And thank you for making me want to blog again.

I took it easy for the rest of May and just worked on getting the mileage up.  

Then June rolled around and I “ran” Rothrock… aka got demoralized and felt like I should probably reconsider my choice of hobbies (and friends.  Even though I was the one who conned them into that suffer fest.)

If I'm good for anything, it's a flattering race photo.

If I’m good for anything, it’s a flattering race photo.

It took me awhile to digest that one.  Rothrock legitimately SCARED me.  So many moments of “it would be really easy to hurt yourself BAD BAD,” and after taking a spill I went super conservative.  There was definitely blood and tears shed that day.  I came in under my goal time, but it was ugly all the way.  I crossed the finish line shortly after two other girls from my running club and we all said “never again.”

Then on the car ride home we made plans for next year.  And a training run there in the near future.  So apparently the crazy is contagious.

I decided after that to take a nice long stretch off of racing.  

So much adulting.

So much adulting.

And dye my hair purple like an attention starved teenager.  But that look works well on me.

I wanted to use June and July to get in better shape, build my mileage, and just commit to hitting the trails hard.  (Surprise surprise, that works.  For some crazy reason consistency yields results.  Who would’ve thought?)

August is stacked with races starting with Elk County Boulder Dash, which everyone in my running club seems to be training for and there’s always someone looking to put double digit days in, so that’s been really helpful in terms of motivation.

Umbrella Rock, Elk County PA with one of my training buddies Julie.

Umbrella Rock, Elk County PA with one of my training buddies Julie.

After Boulder Dash is Dam Scramble, followed by the last ever (and sadly my first ever) Megatransect.

Other than that, work has been chaotic, Big A has been really accommodating to my habits and strange dietary needs and has been working on getting in shape himself, my dogs still have rocks for brains but they are cute as hell, I’m so glad this is the summer of grapefruit beer because that stuff is delicious, and I’ve been hanging out with my dad more lately which is just good good good.

Anyway, I hope this finds you well, and I look forward to being back.  Happy happy trails as always!

9 comments

  1. onomatopoeicbliss · July 26, 2015

    I generally figure when people ‘leave’, they gotz shit to sort out. Been there, done that. The problem is, I didn’t know you were back. But now I found you. Which is great . . . unless . . . Ima the reason you left!😆😜

    Anyway, I can’t figure out why you thought the race foto was unflattering. Become a guy for a moment and go back and look at the pic. Rather nice, actually!😌😇😋

    So welcome back, for as long as you stay. Hell maybe I’ll be the next one to leave. And it’s gonna be hotter than hell (Literally!!) in NY this week, so don’t run! Hang out in the walk-in cooler😉

    Have a great Sunday night! And while yer down there, could you get me another Sapphire and diet tonic?

    Like

  2. Run Wright · July 30, 2015

    Welcome back to the blog, Martha B. We missed your stories. I love the purple hair. I have never dyed my hair. It gets really brown in the summer and that’s always been enough for me. But i’ve thought about darkening it and adding a purple tinge. Let me know how it’s working out for you.

    Like

  3. NancyTex · August 11, 2015

    There you are! I tried to track you down in June when I noticed you went dark, but WP told me the entire blog had been taken down. Hope all is good with you. Glad to see you back!

    Like

    • Martha B · August 11, 2015

      I am sorry Nancy 😦 I am the crappiest blog friend. Just needed some time to focus on stuff directly in front of my face. I feel like a shit for not being there for you over your past few months of crazy. I’m glad you’re on the mend. I should’ve shot you an email. ❤

      Like

      • NancyTex · August 11, 2015

        It was a solid 3 weeks of full-on drama -but it all ended well. I’m just still incredibly bitter that the system forced me to suffer for 3 weeks, when all I heard from US friends is “oh I had a gallbladder attack and I was in surgery that same day”. Grrrrrrrrr.

        Like

      • Martha B · August 11, 2015

        I know. Pros and cons to both healthcare systems that’s for sure. I might be able to get fast surgery but I have to take a second mortgage out on my house to pay for it 😦 I’m glad you’re getting better though! Gal bladders are dumb anyway.

        Like

      • NancyTex · August 11, 2015

        Gall bladders are useless. Fuckers.

        Like

  4. Judith / soveryslightlymad · August 18, 2015

    Yay! You’re blogging again! I wish I hadn’t taken so long to figure that out!

    LOVE the purple hair. I keep saying I’m going to do something crazy when my hair starts getting gray — luckily it’s not an issue yet? My husband will probably roll his eyes at me, but I think it’ll be fun.

    Anyway, I’m going to catch up on what you’ve been doing. All the trail running sounds so wonderful!

    Like

    • Martha B · August 18, 2015

      Bless your heart and your life that you don’t have a gray problem yet. Why do you think I’m going through the teenage purple phase? 🙂 ohhh genetics. Tis a bitch.
      Thank you for stopping by. I really missed good blog buddies like you! All the more reason to make a comeback.

      Like

Leave a comment